如需獲得最佳網頁瀏覽體驗,請使用 IE 11 或更高版本、Chrome、Firefox 或 Safari。

元数据管理解决方案

元数据管理是释放企业数据真实潜力的关键所在。 但是,发现、引入、集成、链接、共享和分析元数据通常依赖手动流程,并且耗费大量时间、金钱和专业技术资源。 不过,适当的元数据管理解决方案可帮助各种组织就如何增加收入、实现法规合规性或实现其他战略目标得出更深入的结论。
元数据管理解决方案

erwin在2020年度Gartner元数据管理解决方案魔力象限中获评为领导者

什么是元数据?

什么是元数据?

很简单,元数据就是关于数据的数据。 每次在来源捕获数据时即会生成元数据。元数据可供用户访问,可在组织内移动,可与其他来源的其他数据集成或用其扩充,可进行配置、清理和分析。 元数据非常宝贵,因为它提供有关数据元素属性的信息,这些属性可用于指导战略性的运营决策。

它可回答以下重要问题:

  • 我们有哪些数据?
  • 它来自何处?
  • 它现在位于何处?
  • 自最初创建或捕获以来它有何变化?
  • 谁有权使用它以及如何使用?
  • 它是否为敏感数据?或者它是否有任何相关风险?

什么是元数据管理?

元数据管理是指管理描述其他数据的数据,尤其是关联和沿袭。 它涉及制定策略和流程,以确保可在整个组织内集成、访问、共享、链接、分析和维护信息。

元数据管理为何具有挑战性?

要创建并维持基础元数据的企业范围视图并使其易于访问,是件非常复杂的工作,原因如下:

  • 当今存在大量的数据类型和数据源,且它们并非为协同工作而设计。
  • 数据基础架构是随着时间推移,由各种不同的技术和不良的文档记录拼凑而成,且很少考虑到下游集成。
  • 业务上下文有限或缺失,常用术语未进行标准化且未在整个企业采用。
  • 缺少按角色和跨工作流程定义和控制数据访问的策略、流程和工具。
  • 传统的手动方法成本高昂、耗时费力、易于出错且跟不上动态企业数据管理基础架构的发展步伐。

因此,依赖于稳健数据基础架构的应用程序和计划可能会大打折扣,导致分析和见解出错。 倘若不能充分利用分析工具,组织就无法成为数据驱动型组织,或者更糟糕的是,最终可能背道而驰。

使用erwin Data Intelligence进行元数据管理的益处

组织不知道自己不知道什么,而且此问题只会变得更糟糕。 随着数据不断激增,对于通过数据和分析计划来了解数据含义的的需求也在激增。 通过元数据管理,您可以实现以下优势:

提高数据质量

实时发现集成数据源或目标中的数据问题和不一致,从而通过增加洞察和/或修复时间提升总体数据质量。

加快获取洞见的速度

扭转当前的85/15规则,该规则使高薪脑力工作者忙于发现、了解和解决错误或不一致性问题,而无法真正分析源数据。

法规合规性

GDPR、HIPAA、PII、BCBS和CCPA等法规都有数据隐私和安全要求,因此需要标记敏感数据、记录其沿袭并描述其流动情况以便追踪。

数字化转型

通过了解存在哪些数据及其价值潜力,可以提升数字化体验、增强数字化运营、推动数字化创新以及构建数字化生态系统,从而促进数字化转型。

企业协作

业务部门推动数据监管与企业战略目标之间保持一致,而IT部门处理数据管理的技术操作,由此,发现、信任和使用数据来有效实现组织目标的大门将随之打开。

提高工作效率,降低成本

倘若能够依赖自动化和可重复的元数据管理流程,工作效率必将随之提升。 据报道,编码工作效率提升85 %以上,元数据发现效率提升70 %以上,数据设计效率提升达50 %,数据转换效率提升达70 %,数据映射效率提升达80 %。

加快项目交付

大数据部署、数据保管库、数据仓库现代化、云迁移等工作的速度加快达 70%。

为什么选择erwin进行元数据管理?

erwin的元数据管理解决方案erwin Data Intelligence Suite by Quest将数据管理和数据监管流程结合到一个自动化流程中。 它的独特之处在于,能够从广泛的数据源、操作流程、业务应用程序和数据模型自动获取、转换元数据并将其馈送到一个中央数据目录中,使其可供在基于角色的视图上下文中访问且易于理解。

erwin Data Intelligence基于我们丰富的行业专业知识和可靠的数据建模软件构建,并与第三方数据访问权限管理和安全工具相集成。 30多年来,我们一直和金融服务、医疗保健、技术和关键基础设施领域的知名品牌以及政府机构合作,根据他们的意见调整我们的路线图,共同开发他们可信赖的产品。

erwin Data Intelligence是基于一个可扩展的开放式通用元模型,并随附一整套API。 它包含全面的标准数据连接器列表,可自动获取、刷新元数据并自动进行版本受控的元数据管理。 可选的erwin Smart Data Connectors by Quest对所有类型的ETL代码进行反向工程,并与报告工具及其他生态系统工具进行双向连接。 这些连接器提供快速且准确的数据沿袭路径、影响分析及其他详细的图形关系。

此外,erwin Data Intelligence是大型erwin EDGE by Quest平台的一部分,该平台还集成了数据建模企业体系结构业务流程建模。 客户可以依赖erwin的元数据驱动的主动方法:

  • 了解其业务、技术和数据体系结构及它们之间的关系
  • 创建并自动化精选的企业数据目录,包括物理资产、数据模型、数据移动、数据质量和按需沿袭
  • 激活其元数据,以通过集成业务术语表和数据词典(为利益相关者数据素养提供业务上下文)推动进行敏捷且监管良好的数据准备

erwin Data Intelligence关键元数据管理组件

erwin Data Intelligence Suite数据目录数据素养功能相结合,让企业利益相关者更好地了解和访问可用数据资产,并获得数据资产使用指导和保护,以确保遵循数据策略和最佳做法。 一个自动化的实时、高质量数据流程也随之产生,其中包括数据库、数据仓库和数据湖中的静态数据,与关键应用程序集成并供其使用的动态数据,以及控制这些数据以进行协作和风险管理的能力。 erwin Data Intelligence的关键组件包括:

erwin Data Catalog by Quest

erwin Data Catalog by Quest可自动执行企业元数据管理、数据映射、代码生成和数据沿袭,以进行数据移动和/或数据体系结构的集成与现代化。 该解决方案从各种数据源获取元数据并将数据元素从源映射至目标(包括“动态数据”),同时跨平台协调数据集成。

erwin Data Literacy by Quest

erwin Data Literacy by Quest使数据管理员能够精选和监管数据资产,使数据使用者可以发现与其角色相关的数据并在业务上下文中了解这些数据。 通过创建数据社区和提升数据流畅性,利益相关者可以在整个数据环境的语义、业务和技术方面获得一个综合的上下文视图。

erwin Data Connectors by Quest

erwin Standard Data Connectors随附在erwin Data Catalog中,可从常用静态数据的数据源中获取和引入元数据。 但是,很多客户增加了用于自动化的 erwin Smart Data Connectors,以从更复杂的源获取静态数据的元数据,以及从各种代码类型和业务标准工具及语言(BI、ELT、ETL)获取动态数据。erwin Smart Data Connectors还为IT团队提供元数据驱动的自动化功能,以加快开发生命周期。 更高的可见性、改进的流程、集成式数据使用平台以及可重用的代码都可节省大量时间和金钱。

立即行动

是时候进行更智能的元数据管理了。erwin Data Intelligence将帮助您将数据管理和数据监管工作结合在一起,自动并更快地获取有意义的洞见和做出更明智的决策。

For the best web experience, please use IE11+, Chrome, Firefox, or Safari

Metadata Management Solutions

Metadata management is the hero in unleashing the real potential of enterprise data. But finding, ingesting, integrating, linking, sharing and analyzing metadata usually depends on manual processes and takes a lot of time, money and specialized technical resources. However, the right metadata management solution can help any organization reach deeper conclusions about how to drive revenue, achieve regulatory compliance or achieve any other strategic objective.
Metadata Management Solutions

erwin named a leader in the 2020 Gartner Metadata Management Solutions Magic Quadrant

What is Metadata?

What is metadata?

Quite simply, metadata is data about data. It’s generated every time data is captured at a source, accessed by users, moved through an organization, integrated or augmented with other data from other sources, profiled, cleansed and analyzed. Metadata is valuable because it provides information about the attributes of data elements that can be used to guide strategic and operational decision-making.

It answers these important questions:

  • What data do we have?
  • Where did it come from?
  • Where is it now?
  • How has it changed since it was originally created or captured?
  • Who is authorized to use it and how?
  • Is it sensitive or are there any risks associated with it?

What is metadata management?

Metadata management is the administration of data that describes other data, with an emphasis on associations and lineage. It involves establishing policies and processes to ensure information can be integrated, accessed, shared, linked, analyzed and maintained across an organization.

Why is metadata management challenging?

Creating and sustaining an enterprise-wide view of and easy access to underlying metadata is complicated for several reasons:

  • The numerous data types and data sources that exist today weren’t designed to work together.
  • Data infrastructures have been cobbled together over time with disparate technologies, poor documentation and little thought for downstream integration.
  • Business context is limited or missing, and common terms haven’t been standardized and adopted across the enterprise.
  • Policies, processes and tools that define and control data access by roles and across workflows are lacking.
  • The traditional manual approach is expensive, time-consuming, error-prone and can’t keep pace with a dynamic enterprise data management infrastructure.

Thus the applications and initiatives that depend on a solid data infrastructure may be compromised, rendering faulty analyses and insights. Without being able to take full advantage of analytics tools, an organization can’t become data-driven — or worse, it could end up going in the wrong direction.

Benefits of using erwin Data Intelligence for Metadata Management

Organizations don’t know what they don’t know, and this problem is only getting worse. As data continues to proliferate, so does the need for data and analytics initiatives to make sense of it all. With metadata management, you can realize these advantages:

Better data quality

Data issues and inconsistencies within integrated data sources or targets are identified in real time to improve overall data quality by increasing time to insights and/or repair.

Faster speed to insights

Reverse the current 85/15 rule that keeps high-paid knowledge workers too busy finding, understanding and resolving errors or inconsistencies to actually analyze source data.

Regulatory compliance

Regulations such as GDPR, HIPAA, PII, BCBS and CCPA have data privacy and security mandates, so sensitive data needs to be tagged, its lineage documented, and its flows depicted for traceability.

Digital transformation

Knowing what data exists and its value potential promotes digital transformation by improving digital experiences, enhancing digital operations, driving digital innovation and building digital ecosystems.

Enterprise collaboration

With the business driving alignment between data governance and strategic enterprise goals and IT handling the technical mechanics of data management, the door opens to finding, trusting and using data to effectively meet organizational objectives.

Greater productivity & reduced costs

Being able to rely on automated and repeatable metadata management processes results in greater productivity. Gains of 85%+ for coding, 70%+ for metadata discovery, up to 50% for data design, up to 70% for data conversion, and up to 80% for data mapping have been reported.

Quicker project delivery

Accelerate Big Data deployments, data vaults, data warehouse modernization, cloud migration, etc., by up to 70 percent.

Why erwin for metadata management?

erwin’s metadata management solution, the erwin Data Intelligence Suite by Quest, combines data management and data governance processes in an automated flow. It's unique in its ability to automatically harvest, transform and feed metadata from a wide array of data sources, operational processes, business applications and data models into a central data catalog and then make it accessible and understandable within the context of role-based views.

erwin Data Intelligence builds on our diverse industry expertise and proven data modeling software, and it integrates with third-party data access rights management and security tools. For more than 30 years, we’ve worked with high-profile brands in financial services, healthcare, technology and critical infrastructure, as well as government agencies, to co-develop products they can rely on, adjusting our roadmap based on their input.

erwin Data Intelligence sits on a common metamodel that is open, extensible and comes with a full set of APIs. A comprehensive list of standard data connectors are included for automated harvesting, refreshing and version-controlled metadata management. Optional erwin Smart Data Connectors by Quest reverse-engineer ETL code of all types and connect bi-directionally with reporting and other ecosystem tools. These connectors offer the fastest and most accurate path to data lineage, impact analysis and other detailed graphical relationships.

Additionally, erwin Data Intelligence is part of the larger erwin EDGE by Quest platform that also integrates data modeling, enterprise architecture and business process modeling. Customers rely on erwin's active metadata-driven approach to:

  • Understand their business, technology and data architectures and the relationships between them
  • Create and automate a curated enterprise data catalog, complete with physical assets, data models, data movement, data quality and on-demand lineage
  • Activate their metadata to drive agile and well governed data preparation with integrated business glossaries and data dictionaries that provide business context for stakeholder data literacy

erwin Data Intelligence key metadata management components

The erwin Data Intelligence Suite combines data catalog with data literacy capabilities so enterprise stakeholders have greater awareness of and access to available data assets, guidance on their use, and guardrails to ensure data policies and best practices are followed. An automated, real-time, high-quality data pipeline results, including data at rest in databases, data warehouses and data lakes and data in motion as it is integrated with and used by key applications, with the ability to control if for collaboration and risk management. The key components of erwin Data Intelligence are:

erwin Data Catalog by Quest

erwin Data Catalog by Quest automates enterprise metadata management, data mapping, code generation and data lineage for data movement and/or integration and modernization of the data architecture. The solution harvests metadata from a broad variety of data sources and maps data elements from source to target, including “data in motion,” while harmonizing data integration across platforms.

erwin Data Literacy by Quest

erwin Data Literacy by Quest enables data stewards to curate and govern data assets so data consumers can discover data relevant to their roles and understand it within a business context. By creating data communities and promoting data fluency, stakeholders have an integrated and contextual view of the semantic, business and technical aspects of the entire data landscape.

erwin Data Connectors by Quest

erwin Standard Data Connectors are included with erwin Data Catalog to efficiently harvest and ingest metadata from common data-at-rest data sources. But many customers add erwin Smart Data Connectors for automation that harvests data-at-rest metadata from more complex sources, as well as data in motion from a broad variety of code types and industry standard tools and languages (BI, ELT, ETL). erwin Smart Data Connectors additionally empower IT teams with metadata-driven automation to speed the development lifecycle. Added visibility, improved processes and integrated data consumption platforms with reusable code all save considerable time and money.

Get started now

It’s time to get smarter about metadata management. erwin Data Intelligence will help you connect your data management and data governance efforts, automating and accelerating your speed to meaningful insights and better decisions.